Psalm 22 is a wonderful passage of Sacred Scripture to pray with, I highly recommend it for prayer in the seasons of Lent and Easter.

Psalm 22 is classified as a Lament. It is also the Psalm that Jesus quotes during His crucifixion, some 5 minutes before He dies.  This psalm is also a prophecy of Jesus and His crucifixion, there are 5 verses that are fully understood only in light of the passion of Jesus.

Verse 1 My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eli, Eli, lama sabach-thani?” that is, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”(Matthew 27:46)

7 All who see me mock at me, they make mouths at me, they wag their heads;
And those who passed by derided him, shaking their heads, and saying, “Aha! You who would destroy the temple and build it in three days, save yourself, and come down from the cross!” (Matthew 27:39-40)

8 “He committed his cause to the LORD; let him deliver him, let him rescue him, for he delights in him.”
He trusts in God; let God deliver him now, if he desires him; for he said, ‘I am the Son of God.’ ” (Matthew 27:43)

16 Yes, dogs are round about me; a company of evildoers encircle me;
they have pierced my hands and feet—
And when they had crucified him… (Matthew 27:35)

17 I can count all my bones—they stare and gloat over me;

18 they divide my garments among them, and for my clothing they cast lots.
…they divided his garments among them by casting lots (Matthew 27:35)

 

In addition to the specific verses that are a prophecy of Jesus, there is something special about this Lament. The last 10 verses of totally different than the first 21. In verse 22, the entire essence of the Psalm changes from a Lament to a Praise! So verses 1 to 21 are best understood with a point of reference of Good Friday afternoon, and verses 22 to 31 are best understood with a reference of Easter Sunday afternoon.

Five minutes from His death, Jesus is still teaching us. We always need to have a vision, an understanding of the great gift of what an eternity with Jesus will be like: an eternal praise of the Holy Trinity.

