I have found this heart
in the adorable Eucharist,
the heart
of my King,
of my Friend
of my Brother.

(St. Bernard of Clairvaux)

I have posted about this prayer before but now I want to explain three things about this prayer: King, Friend and Brother. Jesus wants to have a relationship with us, and these are three key attributes to that relationship.

First, Jesus is not only our King, but He is the King of the universe, for through Him, all things were created (“all things were made through him, and without him was not anything made that was made.” John 1:3).  The entire Gospel of Matthew can be summarized as the King and His Kingdom, the word “kingdom” is mentioned 54 times in Matthew, and 151 times in the entire New Testament.

“No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends…” John 15:15.  In contrast to the relationship of King, a relationship of friendship with Jesus is astonishing.  It is an indicator of how much He loves us that he wants this close of a relationship.

Lastly, the concept of a relationship as a brother of Jesus is sublime: “Whoever does the will of God is my brother, and sister, and mother.” (Mark 3:35).  It is this brotherly relationship with Jesus that is the reason we (humanity) were created.  It is in the New and Eternal Covenant which we enter into in the Sacrament of Baptism, that we become sons and daughters of God the Father (by adoption), and then by extension Jesus (the Son of God by His nature or essence) is our Brother.

Note: I understand Jesus being our Brother is a deep subject for a blog post, so for more information look up Catholic Covenant Theology (especially by Scott Hahn, Timothy Gray, Edward Sri, Michael Barber, and Brant Pitre).

