Today I graduated from Sacred Heart Major Seminary.

First I should say that this blog is my autobiography. Having said that, everything I post is about a relationship with Jesus, a relationship centered around prayer. This blog is about my relationship with Jesus, and my desire to share that with the entire world on the Internet, by teaching about prayer.  My relationship with Jesus is also as His disciple, I am his student and He is my teacher.  So for the last four years I have taken eight classes at Sacred Heart Major Seminary in the Archdiocese of Detroit.  I am graduating with the smallest, simplest program they have: a Basic Diploma in Catholic Theology. (Note: the program was renamed during my time there from “Basic Diploma in Pastoral Ministry”).

This education in theology, Sacred Scripture and spirituality has formed me into a much better disciple than I was before taking all these classes. It has not been just “book knowledge”, it is a knowledge of Jesus, the Father and the Holy Spirit as well as the One, Holy, Catholic, Apostolic Church Jesus founded some 2000 years ago.

It is a bitter/sweet event. I have absolutely loved the time I have spent at the seminary and all the time I put into reading and studying for weekly classes, mid-term and final exams, and the research papers I wrote. I will miss this part of my life, it has truly been a blessing in my life.

I go forward now, serving Jesus by putting my education, my formation to use.  For I must put this education to use in serving Jesus and His church, and I will serve Him here on earth for as long as He gives me the strength to do so. Jesus, you are my King, my teacher, my friend.

