Blessed are you, Lord God, who brings forth bread from the earth.

Blessed are you, O Lord our God, King of the universe, who creates the fruit of the vine.

For the last few years, I have made it a habit to pray before meals, all my meals, even just a snack. Typically I use the standard prayer “Bless us O Lord, and these thy gifts…”. I do also pray “free from” or from the heart also.  Just this week I found 2 new prayers to add. I found these while reading the book “Jesus and the Jewish roots of the Eucharist”.  Both prayers come from the Mishnah, which is a extensive collection of the oral traditions of Jewish rabbis who lived around the time of Jesus (50 BC to 200 AD). Both are simple, and easy to memorize, but most important of all, Jesus himself would have said these two prayers before he ate and drank.

