… and my mouth praises you with joyful lips,
when I think of you upon my bed,
and meditate on you in the watches of the night; (Psalm 63:5-6)

I have suffered from insomnia since I was a young child of about 10 years old, from periods of a few weeks in length to a few years, and a nightly duration of 30 minutes to 2 hours. It is a condition I just endure, along with the effects of a lack of sleep.  For the past few years my insomnia has been infrequent, but still present and I have come to develop a theory about it:

“Prayer is not a cure for insomnia, prayer gives insomnia a purpose.”

Prayer is the last thing I do at night before falling asleep, prayer is only only thing I do when I awake in the middle of the night, and prayer is the first thing I do when I awake in the morning. My practice of prayer in the night and my insomnia theory are not only influenced by Psalm 63, but also by St. Paul: “Pray constantly.” (1st Thessalonians 5:17)

