Hear my Prayer, O LORD!

Answer me when I call, O God of my right!
You have given me room when I was in distress.
Be gracious to me, and hear my prayer.  (Ps.4:1)

“Hear my prayer, O LORD, and give ear to my cry;  hold not your peace at my tears!
For I am your passing guest, a sojourner, like all my fathers. (Ps.39:12)

Hear my prayer, O God;  give ear to the words of my mouth. (Ps 54:2)

O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer;  give ear, O God of Jacob!   (Ps.84:8)
Hear my prayer, O LORD;  let my cry come to you!  (Ps 102:1)

Hear my prayer, O LORD; give ear to my supplications!
In your faithfulness answer me,  in your righteousness!  (Ps.143:1)

The theme of this prayer is before we pray to The LORD to ask for something, we should first beg Him to hear us, It is implied within the words “hear me” that if God does hear, He will answer.  The prayer of asking God to hear is that we are not just thinking about some petition we may have, but that we are serious in our asking the Lord for help.

The more I learn about the Psalms, the more convinced that the Psalms teach us two things, 1) what to pray and 2) how to pray.  So next time you pray for something important to you, first beg the Lord to hear your prayer.

