“Mercy, O LORD”

Be mindful of your mercy, O LORD, and your merciful love,
for they have been from of old. (25:6)

Have mercy upon us, O LORD, have mercy upon us,
for we have had more than enough of contempt. (123:3 )

Answer me, O LORD, for your merciful love is good;
according to your abundant compassion, turn to me. (69:16)

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your merciful love;
according to your abundant mercy blot out my transgressions. (51:1)

Do not, O LORD, withhold your compassion from me,
let your mercy and your faithfulness ever preserve me! (40:11)

Great is your mercy, O LORD; give me life according to your justice. (119:156)

But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God.
I trust in the mercy of God for ever and ever.  (52:8)

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life;
and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD for ever. (23:6)

I use both computer software and a concordance to search the Bible for words and phrases.  This whole week I have been thinking (and praying) about Divine Mercy Sunday. So my thoughts turned to mercy in the Psalms.  To “edit” this prayer (I did not write it), I selected eight verses from the Psalms that teach us about the mercy of The Lord. There are a few other mercy verses that I did not include, so that the final prayer would flow as if it was meant to be read this way.

Note: all verses are from the Revised Standard Version, Second Catholic Edition.

