Lent: 40 days of prayer, fasting, penance and alms giving, also a time of the year when we do something different than we do the rest of the year. It is a time when we try to imitate Jesus and his 40 days in the desert, a time when we try to prepare ourselves for Good Friday and Easter. I have been preparing myself with a daily (novena/nine day) visit to the Eucharistic Jesus, in forms visible (in the Monstrance), and hidden (within the Tabernacle).  I must say it is an easy, simple, and yet grace filled experience.  I often feel Jesus ask me: “How much do you love me?” (See John 21:16).  This nine day special prayer event is one way I have chosen to answer that question.

While Lent is a special season in the Church year, making a Novena is a great spiritual practice for any time of the year.  How do you answer Jesus when he asks “Do you love me?”.

