I bow down toward your holy temple and give thanks to your name for your mercy and your faithfulness; for you have exalted above everything your name and your word.  (RSV)

Psalm 138 is so beautiful that I thought I would write about it again.   Verse two caught my attention with just three words: “exalted …your word”. This started me thinking, what is “the word of God”? This is a simple question: The second person of the Trinity, Jesus.  Immediately I thought of the following: “In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” (John 1:1)

A thousand years before Jesus is to walk on the earth (and on water too),  the writer of the psalm prophetically informs us what God the Father has been doing for all eternity:  exalting Jesus, His Son.

Over and over again, when I read and pray with the Psalms I see that they teach us what to pray and how to pray, and in this verse we are taught to follow God the Father and exalt the Word above everything.

